Aristo Vojdani Presented Linus Pauling Award

Maxim Blinkov/Shutterstock

The Institute of Functional Medicine (IFM) announced the recipient of its Linus Pauling Award at the Annual International Conference in Orlando, Florida on Thursday afternoon. The winner of this year’s award is world renowned functional immunologist, Aristo Vojdani, PhD, MSc, CLS.

The award is given to the clinician or researcher who has made a significant contribution to the development of functional medicine, either through their research or by their activities within IFM that enlarges the functional medicine model or extends the influence of the functional medicine approach.

“[Vojdani’s] contributions to the fields of immunology and microbiology have shed light on the complex mechanisms of autoimmune diseases, food sensitivities, and environmental toxins,” said Jeffrey Bland, PhD, who presented the award. “Aristo’s research and advocacy have not only advanced our understanding of the immune system, and its role in health and disease but have paved the way for personalized treatment approaches. He’s a true pioneer and an inspiration to the functional medicine movement.”

Previous winners include Laurie Hofmann, MPH, Michael Stone, MD, Terry Wahls, MD, Patrick Hannaway, MD, Toby Cosgrove, MD, and Robert Rountree, MD.

“I am grateful and honored to receive this prestigious award named after Linus Pauling, one of our greatest scientists,” said Vojdani.