Breaking News: Michael Stone, MD, MS, ABFM, named recipient of Linus Pauling Award

Photo courtesy of Jason Kindig Photography/the Institute for Functional Medicine. 

The Institute of Functional Medicine (IFM) announced the recipient of its Linus Pauling Award at the Annual International Conference in San Antonio, Texas on Thursday afternoon. The winner of this year’s award is Michael Stone, MD, MS, ABFM.

The award is given to the clinician or researcher who has made a significant contribution to the development of functional medicine, either through their research or by their activities within IFM that enlarges the functional medicine model or extends the influence of the functional medicine approach.

Previous winners include Terry Wahls, MD, David Perlmutter, MD, Joseph Pizzorno, ND, Mark Hyman, MD, Dean Ornish, MD, Jeffrey Bland, PhD, Robert Rountree, MD, and Patrick Hannaway, MD.

“There is a rare honor that rises to the level of being recognized by colleagues, friends, and fellow clinicians,” said Stone. “I am happy, proud, and thrilled to be standing here.”

Editor’s note: This article is part of Integrative Practitioner’s live coverage of the 2019 Institute for Functional Medicine Annual International Conference. For a full list of coverage, click here.