Breaking News: Laurie Hofmann presented Linus Pauling Award

Courtesy Photo/Institute for Functional Medicine

The Institute of Functional Medicine (IFM) announced the recipient of its Linus Pauling Award at the Annual International Conference online on Friday afternoon. The winner of this year’s award is Laurie Hofmann, MPH.

The award is given to the clinician or researcher who has made a significant contribution to the development of functional medicine, either through their research or by their activities within IFM that enlarges the functional medicine model or extends the influence of the functional medicine approach.

Previous winners include Michael Stone, MD, Terry Wahls, MD, Patrick Hannaway, MD, Toby Cosgrove, MD, and Robert Rountree, MD. No award was presented in 2020.

"It means so much to me to receive this award," Hoffman said. I'm humbled and honored to become part of the lineage of incredible recipients. I am hopeful for the future of functional medicine and grateful to have been a part of it." 

Editor's note: This article is part of our live coverage of the 2021 Institute for Functional Medicine Annual International Conference. Click here for a list of full coverage.