August 2012 John Weeks Integrator Round up on People

Helen Erickson selected as AHNA Holistic Nurse of the Year for 2012

Helen Erickson, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN was selected as the nurse of the year for 2012 by the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA) . Erickson’s recent impact on the holistic nursing field is service as the immediate past-chair of the American Holistic Nurses Certification Corporation, the international credentialing body for holistic nursing. For many years she has been an anchor of the profession’s move toward board certification and testing. Erickson was, according to a July 25, 2012 announcement from AHNA, previously inducted into the American Academy of Nursing as a fellow in 1996, was awarded the Faculty Teaching Award from the University of Texas at Austin, School of Nursing in 1990, was inducted into the ADARA, Women’s Leadership Society at the University of Michigan in 1982, and also in 1982 received the Sigma Theta Tau (Rho Chapter) Award for Excellence in Nursing.

NUHS student Dana Madigan the first chiropractic student to win the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship

The first chiropractic student to ever be an Albert Schweitzer Fellowship is National University of Health Science student Dana Madigan, according to this notice on the NUHS site. The note describes the Schweitzer program, which started in 1992, as “support(ing) graduate students in learning to effectively address the social factors that impact health, as well as developing lifelong leadership skills and living the famous physician-humanitarian’s message of service.” Madigan’s project for the fellowship will be to “help deepen connections between the NUHS clinic in Lombard, Illinois, and community organizations that help the medically underserved, specifically in regard to low back pain.” Madigan is committed to strengthening relations between the CAM fields and public health. She is also studying to receive her MPH via a coordinated program between NUHS and the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Robert Bonakdar, MD elected to presidency of the American Academy of Pain Management

The director of pain management of Scripts Integrative Medicine, Robert Bonakdar, MD, ABIHM, has been elected as the new president of the American Academy of Pain Management (AAPM). AAPM is the nation’s largest multidisciplinary organization. Bonakdar completed a clinical and research fellowship in integrative medicine at Scripps Center for Integrative Medicine in La Jolla. He is a regular presenter on the Integrative Holistic Medical Treatment for Pain component of the American Board of Integrative Holistic Medicine. Bonakdar’s experience also includes extensive study in Southeast Asia.